More and more wild animals are on the verge of extinction and others are on the endangered list. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

It is observed, that during the last few decades, a number of animals were threatened with extinction. This essay will discuss the causes of this problem and the possible solutions to mitigate the issues. To begin with, one of the significant reasons for this problem is, the excess deforestation happening in sanctuaries. For example, a recent article published by Venture Woods, an independent charity organization working toward protecting wildlife narrates, that species like Chimpanzees and Orangutans are now endangered because of desertification happening around them. According to what I have learned these things happen because of the insufficient laws to capture the responsible persons who do these and penalise them for what they have done. Hence, one of the practical solutions that we must consider in doing is, making amendments to the existing laws, and governments must back law enforcement to do justice. In addition to deforestation, international illegal wildlife theft is also another major reason to make species to get extinct. For instance, a documentary programme which was telecast on Discovery Channel revealed, that the Crocodile lizard, an indigenous animal that can find only in Sri Lanka is now endangered because of wildlife theft. People who involve in these types of things, get involved because of the huge amount of money that they get. As a solution to this, governments must take steps in providing these people with alternative pathways to making money. As a result of this, they may not get involved in such activities in the future. To sum up, we must protect innocent animals from becoming extinct because of deforestation and illegal trade. It can be accomplished by doing changes in the laws and encouraging individuals to earn in many different pathways.