As communications technology develops, people are interacting with their friends and family in different ways from before. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Over the last few decades of human history, communication technology has gone from snail-mail to the world wide web. First came the telephone and telegrams, then satellite communications and the internet. Such technologies enable us to stay in touch with our friends and family anywhere in the world. During the pandemic, this technology has been especially vital; however, it has changed how we communicate with our loved ones. While this change has a few disadvantages, there are undeniable advantages. Firstly, the internet can potentially lead to dysfunctional relationships. This is because many are addicted to social media and spend excessive time on their phones, ignoring their loved ones. This can lead to their loved ones feeling neglected. For instance, a person might spend more time gaming than being with their husband or wife. Also, online dating apps like Tinder make it remarkably easy for a person to cheat on their partner. So for some, the convenience of the web is detrimental to their real-life relationships. While there are a few disadvantages, the advantages are more significant. For a start, we can instantaneously communicate with people anywhere in the world. In the past, a written letter could take weeks or even months to be delivered to another country. Nowadays, an email or message takes only a moment. For example, I can use Facebook Messenger to video call my grandmother in my home country anytime, at no cost. The internet has been a godsend, especially for vulnerable groups like the elderly and people living far away from home. In conclusion, I feel that modern communication is an essential part of life. It is how many folks manage to maintain their social networks and family connections during the pandemic lockdowns. While the internet might drive some towards isolation, the internet is an invaluable way to stay in touch for the vast majority.