Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

These days some people feel that advertising is very effective at influencing consumers' buying decisions, while others claim that it is so common and not affecting enough to guide people's attention anymore. Although social media has made advertising more common than ever before by using several new methods, I think it is still extremely powerful because it creates a desire for the product to sell, just like me as a consumer sometimes advertisements make me interested to buy things. Owing to, it can be argued that social media platforms feed users with tremendous amounts of advertising. On these platforms, there are endless advertisements. What's more, even the pictures and videos that influencers post about their daily lives can be a promotion of a certain brand. People may become very insensitive to what those advertisements and promotional posts are saying and just scroll through their feed as quickly as possible. However, I disagree with this argument because if advertising on social media didn't yield sales, some social media companies and influencers would not become so wealthy. On the other hand, it is thought that advertisers are very good at planting a seed of desire in consumers' minds. For example, nowadays many skincare brands use beautiful models with really good skin conditions we usually call healthy and glowing skin, they overcome this in their commercials to send women and girls the message that if they use their skincare products, they also can be instantly having a glowing and healthy skin like those models. The message allows their desire to become give more attention to their beauty and as a result, they purchase it even though they do not need any, or even if they needed it they have to know that they will not get that in an instant result like it is said on the advertisement. I agree with this opinion because I purchase many unnecessary things which I wouldn't think of buying if advertisers hadn't planted the ideas in my head. To sum up, while the overwhelming amount of advertising on social networking sites may make people interested in it, I believe it is still very effective because it has an impact on the consumers to buy products.