Some people believe that smartphones are destroying social interactions today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the present time, smartphones are used widely by individuals as devices for communication with others. However, they are believed to disrupt real conversations and obstruct society from forming new relationships. I personally disagree with the statement since I view them as a major method to connect individuals and stimulation for the public to start communicating. To begin with, smartphones allow people from different backgrounds to connect and reconnect. Applications like Facebook and Line provide a way for people to start their relationships and even keep them going. For example, after I moved to the capital city of Thailand,Bangkok, I hardly was able to meet with my friends in person. Luckily, there were Facebook and Line which allow me to contact my friends. Furthermore, I can also befriend with my friends ' new friends by adding them onto my friend's lists.  Even though some people might think that smartphones have affected how to interact properly, I perceive them as a modern and fresh way to build a relationship. Secondly, since social interactions can be make both online and offline, smartphones have their way of function to serve people with convenience. Interactions can be made anywhere and everywhere easily since phone signals and internet are common. Besides, advancement in technology has paved its ways for the public to Facetime with others. Therefore, provide them opportunities to converse face to face even from a huge distance away. For instance, during my time abroad I could call my mom right away from either home or other public places. To conclude, even smartphones are thought to be a destruction of social interactions these days by some, I strongly disagree and believe that their benefits are to help people connect easily and conveniently.