In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some countries, children are taught/educated that as long as they exert full effort, they can accomplish anything. In my opinion, sending this message can inspire and motivate them to overcome hardships, but at the same time, it can cause delusion and disappointment. On the one hand, teaching the next generation that hard work can let them attain any goals has several advantages. To be specific, this form of education enables children to reach their potential. Inevitably, children encounter various setbacks which are quite challenging for them. At these difficult times, encouragement from the elder is crucial. Such self-assurance can motivate them to work hard to move toward their goal. When they are given a message that any goal is achievable, they would have the determination to overcome any difficulty in life. More importantly, it can also help the child to develop a positive mentality and improve his resilience, all of which are necessary for his adult life. On the other hand, the notion that diligence ensures success has detrimental effects on minors' growth. To start with, the main downside is that it may mislead children into spending too much time and effort on tasks in which hard work plays little role. For example, a child wanting to be a professional singer may waste time on voice training without considering their lack of musical talents but still hope that they may achieve success one day. Unsurprisingly, the unsuccessful experience despite continuous effort can breed frustration, delusion, self-esteem issues, or even mental illness. By contrast, if these children are made aware of the limitations of endeavour in the very beginning, they can accept defeats that are caused by other factors with equanimity. In conclusion, teaching offspring that hard work will always result in accomplishment is a great way to motivate them through hardships. Nevertheless, such teaching may produce undesirable outcomes in situations where effort is not the key.