Nowadays people depend on technology for leisure activities. Is this a positive or negative development?

There is a tremendously controversial perspective heating up a debate that people tend to overuse technological items in their leisure time in this day and age. In my opinion, although some regarded this phenomenon as positive, I deemed it more detrimental. Evidently, technology can bring a wealth of merits for people in relaxing. Nowadays, people spend their time on expanding their knowledge as well as acquire new skills more conveniently thanks to smart devices. For example, it is easy for a bunch of Vietnamese students to enhance their English skills through a bunch of cellphone applications such as Elsa speak or Duolingo which are easily downloaded. Hence, spending time on using technology does wonders for people entertaining. Without a shadow of a doubt, while its advantages are widely acknowledged, its counterparts still exist. Truthly, technological devices like smartphones can ruin family time because people tend to be glued to their phones rather than interacting with their family members. Some American people now usually use their mobile phone during the dinner time instead of enjoy the meal and sharing their day with others. And it is one of the main reasons which can lead to the risk of reducing the quality of face-to-face interaction, thereby damaging the strong bond among people including friends and family. Therefore, this development can also be extremely harmful In conclusion, people spend their leisure time has changed dramatically due to the development of technological devices and I believe that this trend has both positive and negative impacts.