Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

The interweb has interlinked with us humans, keeping us connected with one another across countries. It has the ability to entertain, communicate, and provide information one might need. It is a great device people carry everywhere in their pockets and convenient due to its size. Although with many positive outcomes there are also negatives one's, such as private information and photos getting hacked into and eventually leaked, the ability to track an individual down due to it constantly being connected to a satellite and cyber bullying which is a constant trend that is spotted in teenagers all over the world. I believe young offspring should not be exposed to the violent and toxic environment that comes with when buying a phone. Many parents might argue stating that having a phone is a great way to stay connected to distant family and friends. But there are many other ways people can stay connected with each other, such as writing letters, talking through a landline which doesn't have an internet connection and much more. Having access to the internet at a young age can cause addiction and in rare,cases they may even come across an online predator through websites that allow strangers to talk to each other this can endanger the child itself. Furthermore, the toxic environment that surrounds a phone can be very damaging to one's personality, the stereotypical unachievable beauty goals that young girls can be highly influenced by, or for example, certain height boys should reach, so they are liked by society. These dehumanising standards can lead to many mental health and self-esteem problems stopping friends from communicating with each another which in turn affects their socializing skills. To conclude, parents who believe that the right choice would be to give access to the interweb at a young age stating that 'it is a good way to stay connected' should think twice as they are leading their children down a very toxic trail with dehumanising standards and self-esteem issues. I believe the better view is with parents who forbid their young kids to have access to this environment understanding the issues that come with if they are introduced to it.