Fossil fuels, such ad coal, oil and natural gas, are used in many countries. But in some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy, including wind and solar power, has been encouraged. Is this trend a positive or a negative development?

With the advancement of technology, there are abundant sources of energy and people have their own choices to use the energy to make living even better. The most commonly consumed energy was mostly sourced from fossil fuels. However, in some other countries, due to huge concern for the natural environment, people tend to use other sources of energy like solar and wind power and from my point of view, I feel it is a positive development. This is because, in the first place, the using solar and wind are free of cost as it generates from nature. Unlike man-made energies like coal and oil, it doesn't need to procure or require effort to produce air and sun besides set up equipment expenditure and work. Since the source of energy is free and gifted by nature in abundance, one can set up wind or solar power at any time. Secondly, It is eco-friendly and free of air and water pollution. Using solar and wind power not only reduces the expenses but also generates energy in a harmless manner for the environment and people. Moreover, since it generates power in large, the benefit is at large to society at a cheaper rate. Overall it helps to make life even better and more comfortable uniformly. Having said that, it also possesses negative development as well such as destruction of the environment while constructing the structure. for example, while Bhutan looking for construction of solar power in one of the states, it has taken around 30 acres of land which repercurred in lossing the pasture land for farmers. So it also costs loss to the farmers and animals due to the destruction of the forest. Nonetheless, in nutshell, the positive impact weighs higher than the negative developments and hence energy to use natural source of energy.