Some say that main environmental problems of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Other say that there are more important environmental problems.Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Flora and fauna are the two indispensable constituents of our environment.Few people believe that the loss of particular plants and animals is the major concern out of all environmental issues.Few individuals argue that there are other alarming environment-related problems that need attention.I concur with the latter point of view.I will elaborate on both these views and provide my opinion down here. To begin, never have the issue of extinction of rare plants and animals been apparent before. One of the reasons for this is excessive hunting and poaching of certain creatures.They are killed to sell off their skin,horns,teeth etc in international markets for ornamentation and treatment of several diseases as they possess unique qualities in their body parts to curb a few ailments. This makes them disappear from the food chain cycle of our ecosystem. For instance, the Blue whale,one of the largest fish in the ocean is quite rare to spot nowadays. On the contrary,there are many other prevailing issues that need immediate attention.One of them is air pollution.It is increasing due to the emission of pollutants such as Carbon Dioxide from vehicles and industries. This not only decreases the air quality but also boosts the rate of depletion of the ozone layer which acts as a shield between our atmosphere and harmful ultraviolet radiations from the Sun. This further leads to rising in our planet's temperature,melting of ice, many skin-borne diseases etc. For example, in today's time,people are exposed to UV radiation and thus,more people suffer from skin cancer than ever before. In my opinion, although the loss of flora and fauna creates an imbalance in the ecosystem,our focus, however, should be inclined towards other environmental problems such as air pollution,ozone layer depletion, and rise in sea levels.