Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. While others believe that these sites are beneficial. What is your opinion?

In recent years there have been greatly influenced by the different social media platforms by many people and communities. Some people believe that these kinds of social sites bring us many advantages. I recognize these platforms are more detrimental to the people and society. In this essay, I am going to discuss some of the downsides of the use of these social media. Firstly, in terms of sharing the information on these sites is not verified therefore anyone can upload any kind of information without any central authority to check the authentication. As a result, those who access these social sites might be mis-leaded to false information. To illustrate, recently there was a new spread over Facebook about the death of the US new president which was proven fake information. This gets more worst when we as individual does not verify the information and share it with our friend and family and this keeps misguiding others. Secondly, what kind of data is available and what we are consuming from this social networking is important for the individual and as a community. These days there are many unappropriated data available which are not suitable for teenagers. For example, as per latest data consumption record from the central government of India show that there are 60-65% of people access porn content through Facebook account. This could be destructive for teenagers. In conclusion, although social networking sites are helpful as communication media, I believe that we should not ignore the harmful potential related to the use of this kind of social site.