Living in a foreign country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Globalization has seen many people migrating from their country of origin to other countries, where they are unable to speak the local language. Some believe that this language barrier can pose a lot of issues from both the practical and social points of view. This essay will discuss why I completely agree with this opinion. The high rate of immigration and emigration nowadays means that a lot of people currently reside in places they are not originally from; and with most countries having different languages, it is extremely possible for one not to understand the language spoken. This inability to communicate can constitute a lot of problems. One issue is the inability to make friends easily. Difficulty in speaking would hinder bonding and make friend-making difficult. This inability coupled with the distance between family and friends would lead to isolation, and loneliness and ultimately lead depression. Another issue is the inability to use social amenities. For example, due to the fact that road signs are usually written in words, this person would probably get lost a lot or even be unable to join in social activities or go to the market because they are unable to express their needs. Lastly, this language barrier can ultimately lead to dangerous situations. For instance, when a crime is committed, and because most people tend to mistrust an outsider, this immigrant might be lynched, hailed or even killed before they are able to defend themselves. In conclusion, diversity among the nations of the world includes diversity in languages and a person who resides in a county would definitely face a lot of challenges both practically and socially.