Some people think that when a person travels into a different culture they should adapt to the local practices and customs. To what extent do you agree?

As more people are traveling around the world there is an expectation for them to adjust to the culture and customs of the country they are visiting. I agree that travellers should be open minded and that it will be beneficial for them to adjust to the customs. When one finds oneself in culture different to your own, it is important to remind yourself that you are the tourist. There is much to be learned from the old saying “when in Rome, do like the Romans do”. You will gain the respect of the indigenous people and explore what day-to-day living is like for them as opposed to sticking to your own customs and not exploring the country and traditions to its fullest. For example, when you visit a predominant Muslim country, woman’s shoulders must be covered. If you refuse to do this, you might end up not gaining entry to places and miss out on the local experience. Secondly, if you do not keep an open mind, you might as well have stayed home. Although you don’t have to let go of your own beliefs and habits, it is important to try new things like food and clothes. If you stick to what you know and what you are used to, the tourist experience will be lost, and you will end up having a rather boring holiday. Columbia for example, is well known for its coffee. But, if you order a normal American coffee because that is what you are used to, then you will not experience the great taste of their cultural blends. In conclusion, there is no point to travel and visit other countries if you are not going to modify your thinking and try out new things that might be out of your own comfort zone. Therefore, I agree that you should adjust to the culture and customs of wherever you are touring.