Employers should give their staff at least four-weeks’ holiday a year to help employees get better at their jobs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an argument that employers should grant their employees around a month of paid leave to ensure that they will have better performance. This essay strongly disagrees with this opinion because giving them a long time off will slow down their productivity upon their return and companies need to hire more resources to fill in. Firstly, although providing time off to employees is a good thing, taking too long time for vacation will lower their productivity. This is because the majority of people will have to readapt their working habits, thus they tend to be slower in the early days upon their return to the office. Many tasks will require a longer time thus the productivity will be lower. This phenomenon will negatively impact the company. For example, recent studies in Jakarta have shown that after two weeks of break, the majority of staff will need around two days to be back at the same working pace before they leave. Secondly, corporations must have more human resources to replace the staff who take time off. This is because employers cannot let the position be vacant to ensure the stability of their operational activities. Thus they should hire more people and this will cause higher expenses in salaries. However, adding more workers, in this case, does not increase the revenue, therefore this measure is not profitable for employers. For instance, most enterprises in Jakarta only offer 12 days annual leave to their employees and national public holidays to keep the productivity and the profitability of the company. In conclusion, this essay believes that granting nearly a month of holiday to staff is not urgent because after the long break workers tend to have lower productivity and companies should allocate more budget to pay more resources.