Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

In recent years, there are more and more businesses which make an abundance of advertisements to compete with their counterparts. I believe this kind of situation has contributed to some detrimental impacts on customers. This essay is going to introduce some solutions to affix this problem. For one thing, the increasing number of advertisements certainly make people feel annoyed when they are watching their favourite TV program, every time the culmination is about to come, advertisements will pop out and interrupt the TV program. For another thing, some advertisements will not provide people with correct information, so they will be misled and waste money buying something that does not live up to their expectations. For the last thing, the worst situation is that some ill-intentioned businesses will use advertisements to scam others and make them fall into a financial predicament. In order to deal with this problem, the government should introduce some legislation against it. For example, the government can ask all companies to reveal all the information about the products transparently, so that customers will not be cheated. In addition, people should cultivate the ability of media literacy to help them distinguish some exaggerated and misleading advertisements. Therefore, if companies violate the regulations and keep offering advertisements which will confuse customers, people can protect themselves and boycott the products made by them. In conclusion, as far as I am concerned, although advertisements cause some inimical effects on people's lives, we still can prevent some negative influences from happening and make the world a better place.