The prevention of health problems is more important than treatment and medicine. Therefore, governments should spend more money on educating people about healthy lifestyles instead of curing illnesses. How far do you agree with this statement?

The government should spend more resources to educate people about the benefits of having a healthy lifestyle as it helps to reduce the chances of getting sick and increases the average life expectancy of the country. As the consumption of junk food has increased over the last few decades, a surge of diseases relating to obesity has been observed. Similarly, activities like smoking have given rise to the number of people suffering from oral cancer. Governments spend a lot of money on the treatment of patients and nonetheless the huge investments, not all of them are able to survive. In cases like these, investing in making people more aware of the deteriorating effects of a poor lifestyle could save a lot of lives and money. Although it is right to say that prevention is better than the cure, sometimes the fittest people also fall prey to the diseases like brain tumours and cardiac attacks. So, it is also important for a country to take of its citizens by providing them affordable healthcare services. Additionally, many people have a busy routine nowadays, and following a strict diet plan or an, exercise timetable can be difficult for them. In such cases, a little more than education may be required. In conclusion, I would say that campaigns on eating healthy, sleeping early, exercising daily, etc. can definitely create a lot of awareness but it is also important for the government to fund medicinal research for the cases where just precautions could not help prevent diseases.