Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Youth education is one of the major concern topics in modern society. Whether students should be taught to be competitive or work with their friends and classmates is a controversial issue. While there are some benefits to encouraging co-operate sense, my view is that competitiveness will be more useful. It’s clear that this is a society which is full of intense rivalry, and everyone needs to be prepared to face the reality of life at an earlier age. This is because the earth’s resources are so limited that they hardly ever completely satisfy every individual’s demands. In order to keep pace with the competitive era, students have to adapt to fight for resources and success. Moreover, the healthy competition promotes social justice and gives people an equal chance to succeed. For example, a student needs to compete with millions of other applicants to secure good university offers. For many students, the exam is the fairest opportunity to change their lives despite this might cause some stress. Without these fair competitions, how can the poor and the rich receive knowledge in the same classroom? Nevertheless, a voice arises that since every individual has advantages, co-operate will be more efficient. But unfortunately, many people are unwilling to devote themselves to team projects voluntarily as they think someone else will do the work. Inversely, in many cases, competition stimulates people’s potential and makes work more efficient. In summary, as far as real society, fairness, and efficiency are concerned, I strongly hold that competition plays a key role in some aspects of children’s lives. Meanwhile, we should not ignore the important role co-operative is undertaking. Only by doing so can children maintain sustainable and valuable development.