In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

In recent years, using smartphones for payment purposes has become more convenient than other methods which involve cash or cards. Although electronic payment has advantages such as being easy to use and healthier, some drawbacks and challenges like security vulnerabilities should be considered. In this essay, both drawbacks and advantages will be discussed and analyzed. On the one hand, employing smartphones to purchase different items is easy. For example, all credit and debit cards can be loaded onto a mobile phone without the need to carry them in wallets and purses. Moreover, it is less likely to lose your cards or cash while everything is stored on a lockable smart device. As a result, people prefer to use their small screens and replace them with their bank cards. In addition, replacing cards and especially cash with cell phones is environmentally friendly and healthier. For instance, cash money is circulating in many hands which makes it a suitable medium for germs and bacteria. Also, printing, distributing and other processes may lead to detrimental side effects on the environment. Consequently, using fewer cards and cash can improve people's health and benefits our surrounding. On the other hand, using mobile phones to pay for various items might be insecure, even though their operating systems are designed and implemented with care. For instance, a high-skill hacker can hijack your password and gets access to your bank account. Hence, it is significantly important to not rely completely on new technologies, and people should be careful about the risks. In conclusion, the advancement of smart devices allows us to use them as an alternative for our payment methods, although we need to determine their flaws. Despite the drawbacks, I believe using them adequately and securely would be advantageous and could outweigh the disadvantages.