Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is a widely held belief that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society however, there is a strong counterargument that school is the right place to teach children. I believe that both the home and learning environment will teach youngsters how to become good citizens and that there is a shared responsibility towards the child to make this happen. Youngsters learn from an early age and mimic their parents’ attitudes. Mothers and fathers are the first teachers in a child’s life and their offspring will do and say things as expected by them. In addition, many books refer to guardians as the “ first teacher”. Thus, a child will absorb demeanours that will form their personalities and eventually teach them obedience, honesty, respect, and much more. For instance, from as early as infancy a kid will understand what his guardian approves of through body language and tone of voice. They understand and will repeat words and actions as seen and heard by their custodians. Therefore, parents should teach their minors how to be good members of society by acting appropriately. On the contrary, there are those who believe that institutions are the place where morals and values should be taught. Although educators focus on academic content and delivery, there will be certain values that will be instilled. Juveniles spend a large portion of their day at school amongst their peers and instructors. Therefore, they will certainly see how others behave and learn from them. In addition, they will learn things by sharing their lunch, respecting their fellow student’s space and property, obeying their teachers, as well as being kind and helpful towards others. Even though these morals are not formally taught in the academy, it is conduct that is reinforced. In conclusion, it is evident that there is an equal obligation to teach children and that it is neither the sole responsibility of the parent nor the department. Youth learn by seeing and hearing how to act and should be exposed to the right ethics and attitudes in order to learn from it.