Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Traffic congestion and air pollution are popular problems of the modern era. In this essay, I will discuss how an increase in petroleum prices exacerbates commodity rates. Nonetheless, establishing a public transport system can mitigate both challenges. Increasing fossil fuel prices has repercussions on the economy. It will affect the supply chain because of logistics costs as a result purchase power of humans will decrease. For instance, in Pakistan crude oil prices fluctuate abruptly, and authorities update their rates every two weeks so not only supply line is disturbed but also people can not afford basic necessities of life like cereals, vegetables, meat, and fruits. Hence, a petroleum price hike is not a remedy for traffic congestion and air pollution. Conversely, authorities can provide a state-of-the-art public transport system to counter the traffic and air contamination dilemmas. Since public transport is a convenient approach, a huge influx of commuters will efficiently move to their destinations with only a few vehicles which will curb the number of vehicles on roads. For example, Lahore a densely populated city in Pakistan, a few years ago, was facing the challenges of traffic jams and fog. Therefore, the government came into action and decided to accomplish two mega projects namely Orange Line Train, and Metor Bus Transit after completing both of these not only traffic but also air quality was improved. Thus, public transport is highly inevitable for smooth traffic flow and a sustainable environment. In conclusion, in this essay, I argue that petroleum price hikes deteriorate commodities rates. Nevertheless, a public transport system can overcome the traffic and pollution challenges.