Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

Due to globalization, many languages are currently disappearing at a considerable rapid speed. Some scientists have predicted that there will only be a language spoken by all human races in the future. Even though people might benefit from only needing to learn and speak a language, in my opinion, this is a negative social development. To begin with the benefits of uniting the languages worldwide, it is true that some people might find it more convenient to communicate with citizens from other nations. The language barrier has troubled some people to some extent for not being able to express their ideas clearly or building up a relationship with foreigners who do not speak the same language as them. Also, if all people spoke the same language, it would reduce some misunderstandings resulting from the unfamiliarity with the language. In addition, it might also be good news for students since they no longer need to stay up late cramming for language exams. Nevertheless, the downsides of the phenomenon might be more significant than the benefits. First, language, to some degree, is not only just a simple language used by the locals, it comes hand in hand with the perspectives. In fact, it is a crucial cultural asset to many ethnicities (ethnic groups). The disappearance of languages symbolizes the disappearance of diversity, and it is detrimental if all humans tend to think in the same way. Moreover, there are many language lovers who take language learning very seriously as a hobby that they can not live without, and there are also linguists who have devoted all their lives to studying the beauty of languages. It will without a doubt be a great loss to those groups of people. Last but not the least, if losing the ability to read traditional languages, humanity will no longer understand the documents or historical assets that were passed down by our ancestors. In conclusion, if all human races speak the same language, despite several benefits, as far as I am concerned, the downsides still outweigh the positive sides. As a result, it will still be a great negative social development for humans.