One of the most important issues facing the world today is a shortage of food and some think genetically modified food is a possible solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?.

There has been a recent debate accompanying GMF (genetically modified food) since biotechnology was introduced into agriculture. Some people think that GMF would be a possible solution to the problem facing humanity now in regards to food shortage. Personally, I strongly agree with this notion for several reasons as will be demonstrated in the following paragraphs. Firstly, massive produce can be obtained through genetic engineering. To illustrate, through laboratory tools, excellent species can be selected after a series of processes using biomarkers and analysis techniques to choose the best breed of a particular plant that can be grown to produce the maximum yield possible. Also, the genes responsible for special traits such as pests resistance, and climate adaptation can be isolated and cloned into the seeds to produce more powerful offspring. Consequently, we can gain more flexibility in planting various species in different countries and get crops that can survive for a long time. Secondly, it can be observed that modified products do exist and surround us everywhere. The majority of food supplies have been altered somehow for better outcomes, and have been used safely for a long time without propaganda. For example: most of the wheat being Change the form of the verb is show examples used to produce flour nowadays in the market has been genetically processed. Contrary to chemicals, GMF does not interact with cells’ receptors, therefore it is safe for the human body. The change is made at a molecular level, and when the cell enters the body, it gets digested and broken into the primary atoms and elements, so there is no chance to exert a negative influence on our health. In conclusion, I believe that genetic engineering was proven to induce massive progress in terms of quality and quantity of plants, hence, it could be a great solution to the lack of food.