As more and more information is available online, the role of textbook has become obsolete. Therefore, university should replace traditional books with digital materials. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give your opinion on this.

Nowadays, due to advanced in technology we can access anything over the internet such as any documents and details. Some people believe that as more and more detail is available online, the role of textbooks has become obsolete and for that reason, universities should replace printed books with electronic books. The main advantages of this trend are that students can save and download a number of e- books on their smartphones and also, and it will take minimum time to find any information. The main demerits are that it will create differences from printed materials and students will be unable to get thorough data. On the one hand, there are many benefits of this development. First and foremost, it will be easy for students to download many e- books on their smartphones and they do not need to carry their printed paper books inside the classroom. For example, it is difficult for students to carry too heavy printed materials in their classroom and due to this development, they do not need to carry physical books inside lecture rooms. Secondly, over the internet people can get any information just in one click, which will not possible in the case of printed books. Furthermore, this development is more time effective for students instead than finding any information from hard copies. On the other hand, this technique has some demerits. Firstly, it will create a difference from physical books due to choosing internet materials instead of them. Also, reading any information like stories and mysteries from physical books will connect people with the book. For example, in a recent survey, conducted by The New York times it can be seen that printed book readers are more effective compared to online readers. Moreover, students are unable to get thorough data from online materials. Thus, reading online books has some cons. To conclude, after considering all, in my opinion, this development has many benefits like time effective and searching anything in one click, even though accessing online data has some disadvantages.