Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general

In this contemporary world, there exists a certain phenomenon in which fewer and fewer people are committing to their hobbies. The decreasing amount of time for avocations can be ascribed to a number of factors, and this trend may result in several adverse impacts on individuals as well as communities. To commence with, there is a myriad of justifications for the decline of hours that are devoted to hobbies. First of all, the increasing demand for work in recent years has consequently led to the situation of workers having to participate in overtime shifts more frequently, thus, labourers tend to have significantly less time to spend on other aspects of their lives, avocations included. In addition, the advancement and widespread use of technology in recent decades may contribute greatly to the decline of pastimes. It seems that the younger generation is more likely to utilize electronic devices, for instance, computers, video game consoles and mobile phones for recreational purposes, rather than to allocate their time to more traditional hobbies such as taking up a sport. There is a general consensus that the reduction of pastimes may bring a plethora of detrimental effects for people as well as societies. More specifically, if individuals do not have an adequate amount of time to enjoy themselves by participating in recreation, the obvious outcome would be the proliferation rate of stress, potentially resulting in mental illnesses such as depression or sleep deprivation. As a consequence, this might bring a multitude of predicaments for the community, especially the economy. For instance, being overly stressed is evident to substantially decrease employees’ productivity, which can be incredibly damaging to the economy’s growth. Therefore, not only does the disappearance of pastimes directly affect people’s health but, it can also be disastrous financially. In conclusion, the reduction of time besides work and the soaring popularity of using technology for entertainment are believed to be the prominent culprit behind the decline of avocation. I am convinced this tendency ought to give rise to numerous problems for individuals and the public as a whole.