in some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. what are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Hardworking and perseverance are cultural values in some countries. So parents find it precious to teach this worthiness to their children. Some people believe that encouraging kids to work hard has several advantages while others argue that its drawbacks are far more. In this essay, both viewpoints will be discussed. On the one hand, many commentators justifiably maintain that giving the message to children that hardworking is a way of achieving your goals has a lot of benefits. Firstly, youngsters should be learned that obtaining what they want requires some effort. It means that they have to try to reach their ambitions. It is a useful lesson for them when they want to enter society as they are more likely to overcome difficulties in real life. Besides, they are less likely to suffer from failures owing to the fact that they think that failure is the bridge to victory. On the other hand, there are those who subscribe to the view that there are some negative points in setting hardworking as a necessary condition for achieving goals. They assert that this message may lead to misleading juveniles in choosing university major or job. In the other words, they might not find their talents due to the fact that they learn to hard work even in fields which they have no interest and they do it because of parents or society's dictation. They also claim that children should enjoy their childhood and forcing them to do more effort takes them this opportunity. In South Korea for instance, the rate of suicide among teenagers is high due to the university entrance exam which makes them study too hard. In conclusion, values like being diligent have merits and drawbacks simultaneously. It is important for parents to take full advantage of these valuable lessons by making a balance in different aspects of their kids’ lives.