Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are many crucial morals and responsibilities schools and parents should instill in children from a young age. These responsibilities are divided into collective and personal ones. This essay will discuss community work as a collective responsibility for teenagers and whether its beneficial to the community or not. Encouraging children from a young age to take advantages of their free time and spend it to do something beneficial for a healthy up lifting childhood. This factor will help children to think positively when reaching the difficult stage in their lives which is the teenage period. It is highly encouraged by parenting life coaches that teenagers should feel a sense of belonging towards their community. This could be achieved by involving them to take part in free community services such as planting in the neighborhood, painting their school walls or help in renovating houses of the poor. The rewarding and happiness these community jobs will have on its user will build confidence in those teenagers and encourage them to live in this world with a great cause. This could also be a good trial to experience and try different hobbies that can open doors for future jobs. Many communities struggle from juvenile crimes. We are witnessing wars and economical struggle where teenagers are getting involved in drugs and sexual harassments and abuse. In this case a paid community service will encourage these undisciplined youngsters to spend their time in a rewarding job where they can feel responsible towards themselves and others. Another factor of having a paid job is the hours needed to spend on a certain task. As an example, if a certain community service job demands several hours or weeks for the task to be fulfilled, an amount should be paid as compensation of the time spend. In conclusion, I think not all community services should be an unpaid service. Depending on the circumstances of those teenagers an organization could take the lead and responsibility to decide whether this job should be paid or not. As mentioned, this depends on many factors such as hours needed and nature of the task required.