In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Nowadays, there are numerous concerns that parents struggle with in terms of how they should treat their juveniles. In this essay, both drawbacks and benefits of asking children to work hard to achieve whatever they want will be discussed. Firstly, it is clear that youngsters who have to work severely to obtain their goals, are more likely to be successful in their future life. Furthermore, there is nothing that can irritate kids who get accustomed to fulfilling their dreams at an early age. In addition, it may encourage them to continue this behaviour and never give up. Thus, it gives them a sense of triumph, which promote their character and change their attitude. On the other hand, opponents argue that although working hard may have undeniable advantages, it also has negative points that should be considered. For instance, young people who are asked to try really hard to achieve anything which they are eager to have, are more likely to be hopeless if they cannot accomplish their ambition. Another negative aspect of that argument is that, it may increase children's expectations. Then, they always can gain anything. This view may hurt their personality emotionally and make them depressed. In conclusion, making children work severely so as to gain anything has negative and positive aspects that should be considered. It may discourage them or make them really upset.