Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Our surroundings can be detrimentally affected by the products made of plastic. Although they are used extensively to produce various types of packaging, their effects on our environment are dreadful. non-reusable materials can pollute nature and causes side effects on wildlife. However, authorities can prevent the disastrous consequences by taking appropriate measures. In this essay, the problems and the preventive methods will be discussed and analyzed. Plastic can damage the environment by finding its way into water currents and rivers. Therefore, being agitated in water can crush them into microscopic particles, which, for instance, can be eaten by fishes, animals, and even humans. Although they might not be considered dangerous due to their small size, they can be accumulated in the bodies and cause a variety of problems. Consequently, the health of all creatures would be hardly affected by the micro or the nano-plastics. However, the detrimental issues can be avoided by regulating and applying restrictions on the use of plastic materials. For example, the Canadian government recently announced a new law to limit the use of disposable products such as bags, bottles and plates. The new regulation prevents the stores to sell non-reusable goods, even though it is hard for the consumers to cope with their habit. Consequently, people would replace their disposable products with more sustainable ones which benefit our surroundings. In conclusion, using moulded packaging may lead to irreversible damage to our environment, although reducing its consumption can prevent dangerous results. Hence, ruling and encouraging society to decrease the use of such materials could be a very effective way to improve the condition.