Many countries want to host international sports events, while other countries think that hosting sports events has more problems rather than benefits. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some states prefer to host international events in sports, while others suggest that holding such events has more drawbacks than merits. Although both views hold valid points such as boosting the local economy and raising safety concerns, respectively, I believe that these kinds of events contribute positively to the host country, particularly in economic terms. Many countries like hosting international sports events due to the economic benefits they gain. Such events attract large numbers of tourists from various countries, who spend lots of money when traveling to the host country. In other words, during that time hospitality services earn significant revenue from an influx of tourists, which boosts local businesses and strengthens the economy. For example, Azerbaijan has been hosting Formula 1 for several years by now, which brought millions of dollars to the domestic economy and made the country popular on the international stage. The example highlights how beneficial it is to host international events. On the other hand, the involvement of a large number of individuals in any kind of international event may pose potential risks regarding safety. Participation in those events can be dangerous both for guests and locals due to difficulties in the management. That is to say, these security risks deter some countries from hosting them. For instance, in 2009, when hosting the Eurovision Song Contest, the Russian Federation detected a planned attack aimed at disrupting the event. To conclude, though opinions on whether it is beneficial to host international sports events or not vary, I believe that if managed effectively, it has more advantages which lead many countries to host them.