It is universally accepted that eating too much sugar has a negative effect on people’s health. Therefore, some believe that the government should control the amount of sugar people consume. Others think that it is the responsibility of an individual to monitor their sugar intake. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The consumption of sugar in excess leads to various health disorders. While some believe that people should be in control of their sugar intake, others think that it’s in the government’s interests to control that. I personally believe that each person is responsible for their own health and government intervention in such issues is not required. This essay discusses both perspectives. On the one hand, there has been an exponential growth in consumption of sugar based food. Consuming sugar in such vast amounts will lead to major health issues such as obesity, diabetes and heart diseases. A central ruling which regulates the amount of sugar consumed by each individual will serve a pivotal role in controlling sugar consumption. Moreover, it will ensure that each individual remains healthy and their families are free from any disorders. For instance, almost 70% of all Americans suffer from obesity and are seeking medical attention. On the contrary, every individual is responsible for their actions and must face the consequences. The government regulating consumption of legal goods interferes with ideas of democracy. This is supported by the fact that each individual must be free to choose their habits and actions. Since the vast majority of the population is educated, one can decide whether to follow limits and consume sugar with responsibility. Furthermore, it’s the government’s responsibility to make people aware of the results of excess sugar consumption. In conclusion, although both sides of the debate back their ideas with sufficient reasoning, the government must get involved on a lower level and spread awareness regarding the issue of consuming excessive sugar.