Some people say that modern technology has made shopping today easier, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is sometimes argued that technological advancements such as e-commerce sites have enhanced shopping experiences. Although I overwhelmingly agree with this, I also hold the belief that it has brought about both confusion and annoyance to shoppers. On the one hand, up-to-date technology has improved the customer experience in both online and offline shops. Firstly, with the advent of e-commerce websites, products are made globally available without geographical constraints. That means a Nike fan in Vietnam is able to order the much anticipated “Fly 4%” running shoes as soon as they are added to sites such as Amazon US or Sportswear.com. Secondly, physical store visitors seem to welcome the convenience of computer-operated payment methods and customer service. A buyer can instantly pay for his purchases by scanning a QR code at a checkout counter, while a customer assistant could promptly award him a loyalty card with personalised offers as suggested by customer relationship management software. Nevertheless, I believe modern technology has caused shoppers to be overwhelmed by choices and annoyed by disrupted buying processes. To illustrate, a quick Google search for a simple item such as baby diapers results in about three hundred providers, each of which boasts about being the most trusted brand in baby care. Therefore, it seems harder for the diaper buyer to pick one among an enormous number of possibilities compared to just a few options in a nearby traditional shop. In addition, cutting-edge technology could still contain flaws or bugs that annoy shoppers. For example, the MOMO e-wallet has failed to connect to the database of its retailing partners for week-long periods, which left thousands of dissatisfied users queueing to sort out their bills with cashiers. In summary, although shoppers now have greater choices and convenience, their buying experience has deteriorated to some extent because of technical interference. Therefore, merchants should carry out extensive customer research before deciding on adopting these technologies to satisfy the expectations of today’s consumers.