Some people say that to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus more on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

The assertion that governments’ intervention in mitigating ecological pollution and assisting people in owning a house could hinder the contraction of ailments is a controversial issue. Strongly agreeing with this statement, I believe that addressing these challenges by governments could play a significant role in reaching a considerable decrease in the number of patients. Diminishing environmental polluters, many illnesses would be eradicated. In other words, enacting strict rules against the producers of toxic gases and materials could eliminate the causes of tremendous illnesses, contributing to the citizens’ health. Studies from Harvard University in 2018, found that the released lead from industrial rubbishes was the main cause of neurological illnesses such as MS, Parkinson and cerebral palsy in children, highlighting the necessity of governmental supervision on recycling industrial rubbishes. Furthermore, offering subsidies on electric cars, fossil fuel consumption and consequently, carbon dioxide emissions would be declined, which is highly responsible for respiratory and cardiovascular diseases. In addition to health benefits, these interventions compensate for the imposed adverse impacts on nature by humans in the long term. Secondly, buying a home has become a challenge, especially for young couples, which increases stress in their life. However, offering low-interest loans of 2% for example, on the part of governments to the purchasers of first home in life reduces stress, preventing other potential mental disorders such as depression or isolation. According to a study from Oxford University, the possessors of homes in the United States have 40% less stress than those who do not, illustrating the positive correlation between owning a home and experiencing less stress. Although other factors such as irregular sleeping habits, not exercising and unhealthy diets negatively impact health conditions, the external factors have the same influences as personal ones. In conclusion, authorities play a crucial role in residents’ physical and mental well-being through their financial and eco-friendly support. As a result, the idea of government’s role in society’ health is supported.