Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The rate of crime has increased gradually day by day around the world. Many citizens believe that prolonging the prison penalty is a constructive way to lower the crime rate, while others argued that we should find different solutions to the issue. To begin with, there are some good reasons for people to support extended jail terms. First of all, the experience of imprisonment could deter criminals from committing crimes to avoid being in prison again in the future. Secondly, staying in jail might give opportunities for rehabilitation. For example, some criminals may start reflecting on their mistakes during the time when they are imprisoned. And, at the very least, as the lawbreakers are imprisoned, they couldn't commit crimes in the community, as a result, the rate of crime decreases. However, on the other hand, some people think that the harsh confinement environment could arouse mental health problems, making people more prone to aggression, therefore, they consider other alternatives to be more effective solutions. To start with, having proper psychological therapy could be a productive way. For instance, offenders' mental health tends to be in bad condition or even worse, they might be psychopaths, so medical assistance and counselling can truly improve the problem itself. Furthermore, another different method to reduce violations is the improvement of the living condition of the poor. To illustrate, those who are not satisfied with their lives are more likely to commit a crime. For that reason, the government should implement some emergency relief programs to help the needy with finance as well as daily essentials and then enhance the citizens' well-being. To summarize, in my opinion, long-term jail could help bring down violations more or less, yet psychological treatment and enhancement of welfare are the permanent cure of the root cause.