Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, the smartphone is an essential device in a juvenile’s everyday life. Teenagers spend a lot of time on it doing plenty of different things, such as chatting, surfing the internet, playing video games, studying and watching videos. Of the many different things you can do with these modern phones, there are some positive aspects and some drawbacks. In this essay, I will explain why children spend so much time on these devices, which are surely a positive development in modern society. Smartphones are mainly used to communicate. Almost all teenagers have installed in their smartphones many social networks, for example, Whatsapp, Instagram, Facebook or Twitter. By using them, they can chat with their friends, publish new photos and discover new social trends. In other words, they stay updated with the recent news and trends. Furthermore, since the spread of the covid-19 pandemic, smartphones have been an essential requirement for school purposes. Students have followed lessons online through their phones, and have sent the homework to the teachers by taking photos of it. The more recent the phones were, the easier was to follow lessons for them. However, sometimes smartphones are overused. They can become an addiction for youngsters, especially if they spend their time doing superfluous things such as playing video games or watching useless videos. Indeed, social networks are sometimes misused. If you spend hours watching photos and videos of others, you will not achieve great results in other things such as school or sport, because of the lack of time. For instance, many of my peers use Instagram 3 hours a day on average, this time could be used to learn, study or read. In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks to the use of smartphones, overall this new development has certainly brought much more advantages, giving the possibility to have lessons in your bedroom or chat with friends that are far away from you. Especially now, with a pandemic that is still running, their usage has never been so important.