Many people believe working from home is better than going to an office. Others believe it is better to work in an office environment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion about it

Some people prefer to work from their house, while others feel working in an office is better. This essay discusses both sides of this argument and explains why I believe home-based work is better. Many believe it is more beneficial to work from their own home. First, working from one’s residence leads to higher productivity. This is because it eliminates the distractions that come with working in an office. For instance, when working from home, I do not get distracted by my co-workers stopping by my desk to ask me unnecessary questions. Furthermore, a lot of time can be saved. This results from not wasting time in traffic to go to an office. However, others feel that is better to work from an office. The most significant reason is that it can be easier to be motivated. When bosses directly watch over their staff, they are more likely to stay on task. This is due to fear of losing favour with one’s supervisor. Another reason is that it is easier to communicate with colleagues. This results from being able to easily meet face-to-face and this can be more effective than having to rely on online communication. In conclusion, I believe both sides of the argument have merits. However, overall, I think that the advantages of being more productive and avoiding the daily commute to the office outweigh the disadvantage of sometimes lacking motivation and not being able to meet with co-workers, in person as easily. Furthermore, in my opinion, motivation can be enhanced with appropriate scheduling and goal setting.