Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Waste recycling is one of the major concern topics in modern society. How can raise people ’s awareness of waste recycling is a controversial issue. My view is that while governments must no doubt create eco-friendly laws, the education of individuals behaviour also play a key role. It’s clear that we have nearly exhausted many nature resources and left a big carbon footprint on a fragile planet as the considerable demand of humans. By forcing people to recycle by law, we can effectively raise people's awareness of waste recycling and regulate their waste recycling behavior. This means that most people will consciously recycle their garbage, which will help the whole society to use resources efficiently and protect the ecological environment. Moreover, the authority can regulate the behavior not only of residents but also of organizations. For instance, the government of Shanghai, China, has fined individuals 200 yuan for not separating garbage and up to 50,000 yuan for mixing garbage, so that the entire community can fully participate in separating garbage. The law makes it possible for individuals and organizations to participate together to make waste recycling more efficient. Nevertheless, laws are just a temporary tool, while education is the key to long-term recycling awareness. People will do their part to collect waste with enthusiasm when the thought process is augmented by an educational approach. This can be taught by organizing talks or movies on recycling and explain the benefit, in this way people may care more about the environment and thus take part in recycling. In sum, the authority is very important for waste recycling. Meanwhile, we should not ignore the important role education of behiviours is undertaking. Only by doing so can solve the root of this problem.