Some people think it is more important for government to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the cost of treatment is ever-increasing and put a significant burden on each citizen in particular and the government in general. This is the reason why someone supposes that government should spend the budget on promoting a healthy lifestyle so as to avoid ill health, rather than spend it on treatment. From my perspective, I am not convinced by this idea and this essay will point out some reasons behind my point. It might be true that the government should spend public funds on promoting a good lifestyle because of some sound reasons. First and foremost, the cost of medication is higher and it affects significantly people ’s quality of life. If the public has opportunities to prevent sickness, they can save money which pays for treatment and spend it for other purposes such as economic development, and the education system. In addition, when governments improve public awareness about health, residents will have good health, so they can spend their energy and put their minds on career paths. Due to this, authorities can build wealthy countries based on the contribution of the community. However, this has an important impact on public health. The main reason is that a healthy lifestyle is not enough to avoid illness. Some diseases result from genies that people can not avoid. Hence, the population are still ill even though they have an optimistic lifestyle. In addition, illness can cause by environmental pollution. If this detrimental situation of the environment does not improve, regardless of having healthy habits, people have to suffer from illnesses such as respiratory diseases. Therefore, governments should take into account “force major” circumstances in order to support citizens in terms of finance or administrative procedure. For example, the authority encourages their citizen to go to the hospital from year to year so as to check their health problems. Thanks to this, people can realise illness as soon as possible and save costs on therapy before their situation becomes more terrible. In conclusion, although I admit that spending money on encouraging healthy habits should be considered a reasonable way to prevent disorder, I still maintain my position that local authorities should take care of ill people. If they can distribute the national budget for both purposes, the public will have a high quality of life.