Some people think it is important to construct new buildings rather than wasting money maintaining the old ones. To what extent, do you disagree or agree with this opinion?

Since the beginning of industrialization, the pace of construction of new buildings has been astounding. Yet, some people believe that it is better to build new structures instead of spending money to restore those already existing. In this essay, I will assess both views and I will outline the reasons why it is better to maintain the old buildings. In developed countries, metropolises are massive cities, therefore expanding them further without first trying to restore the already existing buildings would result in a rise in pollution. In fact, if people live far from the centre, the time spent commuting is higher, consequently the pollution is more. Building new edifices requires more bricks, steel, energy and water. Therefore it is not sustainable. In addition to the increase in pollution, if the cities are bigger, the time spent moving across the cities is higher. Nowadays, there are already a lot of issues regarding traffic jams in big cities such as Los Angeles or Las Vegas. In conclusion, although it might seem better to construct new, modern buildings, it is worse from every point of view, among them: pollution and quality of life are the majors. For the future sustainability of the world, the best option is to use all the spaces that are already available instead of creating new ones