Nowadays, many people complain they have difficulty getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep?

In recent times, a significant number of individuals have made complaints about their sleeplessness. While the main problems that may result are disruption of physical and mental health, fundamental solutions based on regular exercises and reduction of environmental noise would tackle this problem. Foremost among the problems that may occur due to insomnia is the effect on physical health. This means the body would not be functioning at optimal level. As a result, the individual involved may likely have associated symptoms such as headache and anxiety. Another major issue would be the disruption of the mental health of the affected individual. By this, an insomniac may experience difficulty in concentrating while performing tasks and could easily make mistakes on duty. Consequently, this may have long-term effect leading to depression. For example, a study carried out in one of the tertiary hospitals in the United States found that the major cause of headaches in adult patients was linked to difficulty in getting adequate sleep and most of them were treated by conservative management. One of the remedies to prevent sleeplessness would be to engage in regular physical exercises. This tends to ensure there is adequate circulation in the body and also causes hormones to be secreted which will aid adequate sleep at night. Furthermore, a decrease in the environmental noise at night may aid insomniacs in getting good sleep. By this, devices such as phones and televisions that may distract the individual should be kept at a distance. For example, in other to promote healthy living in China, the government built residential areas in the suburbs to reduce the effect of noise pollution. In conclusion, negative change in physical and mental health status are the major challenges associated with inadequate sleep while routine exercises and reduction in noise pollution, especially in residential areas are possible ways to overcome insomnia.