Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In recent years, an increasing number of people prefer to be self-employed rather than work for other businesses. This essay is going to discuss the cause of this condition and give some drawbacks of being self-employed. For one thing, the reason why people want to be self-employed is that they can have more flexible working hours compared to working in a traditional business. In addition, they can have more freedom in their projects. For example, they can choose the people they want to cooperate with or the clients they want to serve. For another thing, some people might just want to accomplish their dreams in their childhood, which is becoming a boss because that makes them become more confident when they go out with their friends. For the last thing, some jobs such as artists and musicians do not have to work in a company because they can use their incredible capabilities to earn money. There are some disadvantages if people do not want to work in a company, they have to take some risks. For instance, if they want to establish a new company, they will need to have an abundance of funds to support the business, and they also need to ensure the company will make profits soon, or they might fall into financial predicaments. In addition, some jobs like artists and designers do not have to build huge businesses because they can work in their own studios. Nonetheless, that does not mean that they will have a better financial situation, that kinds of jobs are not stable, you need to be famous so that you can earn a huge amount of money, or you might have no income for a long period. In conclusion, although self-employed has become a trend in this contemporary epoch, there are still some downsides that people need to consider about it. It depends on which kind of life they want to live, a stable one or an adventurous one.