Some people argue that history is of little or no use to us. Other believe that studying history gives many benefits. Discuss those views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, the examination of the past has been of great interest to the public. Though many a person regards it as indispensable, others deem it superfluous, especially in modern times when technology is pervasive. Personally, I hold a view that the significance of history is ever-present and research into it should be maintained. On the one hand, examining the past means searching for solutions to the present and future. In fact, the contemplation of historical events and characters is somewhat synonymous with the acquisition of insights into the essence of past events as well as the merits and demerits of precursors, thereby drawing lessons which can be applied in the modern world. A prime example is that the foreign policies of Germany, aiming at showing solidarity and minimising the risk of armed conflicts with other fellow states, were constituted and enacted after learning from the wars resulting from diplomatic errors made by preceding leaders. Moreover, via history, one's understanding of his country's origin and background can be established and deepened and thus patriotism can be consolidated. Therefore, it would be a grave mistake to overlook the beneficial impacts of this discipline. On the other hand, opponents cast doubt on historical facts, believing they have become archaic and unable to be reapplied. That could be true to some extent since humanity has experienced a drastic transformation and there are solutions which were once used to address past problems but have become obsolete and incompatible with contemporary issues. For instance, colonialism had been effectively resisted with the employment of violent methods before it evolved into a more sophisticated form which is virtually impossible to be eradicated with the mere utilisation of military and weaponry. Hence, it would be sensible to assert that the practicality of this discipline has dwindled over time. To conclude, there are solid arguments to justify both schools of thought. From my viewpoint, I opine that history has always played a crucial role in the development of human civilisation and under no circumstances should it be underestimated.