It is more important to learn about local history than foreign history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

History is a topic of great concern. Some people believe that it is necessary to learn local history while others argue that foreign history is supposed to be known. I think one must give precedence to local history for several reasons. Firstly, learning history helps a student not only acquire knowledge but helps an individual to inculcate good principles, thereby becoming responsible citizens. This is because students understand how their home country has progressed and gained a fundamental understanding of the path that great leaders have chosen. As an example, Indian students studying in the fourth grade learnt about how India gained independence on 15th August 1947. This helps them to understand how India struggled against rulers, not only from England but also from several other countries even though dealing with events seemed to be extremely difficult. Consequently, a student learns not to give up under any circumstances and hence they can contribute to the prosperity of a nation. Secondly, students also understand the scientific developments done in the past. Such kind of information does exist in many books. Moreover, they learn how multiple techniques were incorporated to improve designs of various products, machines, et Cetra in the past by scientists and engineers. To illustrate, students in France learnt about how citizens in the past have been successful in the creation of aircraft. Not only that, but they also learn about the failures and problematic situations that engineers underwent during the process of manufacturing the wings and propellers of the aeroplane. Besides, they also understand the shortcomings of resources of their home country. By learning from the mistakes of their ancestors, they are able to pursue tasks in an appropriate manner. Prevention is definitely better than cure. In conclusion, I strongly believe that although knowing foreign history might play an essential role in an individual's life, it is crucial to know local history.