Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. To what extent is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, it is true that some nations import tremendous numbers of food from other nations, and can have some negative effects, including not only economic affect, but also environmental impact, yet it would be a wise deal with some society issues, such as food shortage and environment protection In this essay, i will analyse that whether it is a positive trend or not. People opposed this phenomenon highlight the economic effects for which import food from foreign nations. In detail, since the government increase the amount of food import, government expenditure and money out-flow (domestic money transfer to abroad), implying the GDP of the country would be decline. Therefore, the domestic economy will experience a fluctuation and sometimes a decrease instead of increasing. Furthermore, the transportation of food is a huge problem. Majority of food is delivered by vessels, and due to the limited level of technology, the power of vessels are offered by fossil fuel. It is inevitable for this fossil fuel -powered vessels release carbon dioxide, and in some harsh situation like storm, leading to the sinking of vessels and leakage of fossil fuel. Although it is not happen frequently, the Eco-system will be disturbed by this occasional events indeed. Nevertheless, it can not denied that the import of food bring several benefits in terms of society and environment. Firstly, some nations situated in the equator encounter some natural disasters frequently, for example, drought and acid rain, and the local farm can be destroyed by this, resulting food shortage. Fortunately, importing food can address this food perfectly. Meanwhile, the farming will occupy the colossal areas of country. To do this, the area used to be forest will be replaced by cropland. Diminishing forest could really harmful for environment and food chain. So, food import would be meaningful and beneficial. In conclusion, nor will food import solely carry merits or demerits. It is a trend bring benefits, for instance, solving food shortage and environment preserving, but also drawbacks, for example, economic trap and Eco-system disturbance.