Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Youngsters making their own decisions has become a controversial issue. It is said that some fraction of populace feel that allowing children choose what they like in terms of fashion, food, and entertainment might lead to a world full of selfish people. While several others think it is necessary to allow them decide on what is best for them. Despite debates on this topic, there are valid points on both sides. However, I believe children should be allowed to make their own choice and I will discuss reasons for my stance in this essay. On one hand, life is not a bed of roses, giving children the freedom to decide on their own accord could make them feel that life is filled with milk and honey, in other words it is either their way or no way at all. For instance when my cousin was little she was given a free hand to make a time table of what she would like to eat during the week, she turned her freedom it into a life style. Now, she can never eat same food more than once a week, even during a period where she might not be financially stable. In contrast, in my view, allowing them choose for themselves, might perhaps give them a sense of taste and style. It can make them become more bold and decisive in what they want which is a skill one need to have in life. In addition, they can know their likes and dislikes. For example, my cousin has an impeccable tastes due to freedom of choice given to her by her parents, she is able to navigate life knowing what she likes and what she does not like. In conclusion, a few people thinking letting children make their own choice could make them selfish, while others think it can make them independent. In my opinion I believe allowing them decide for themselves can make them self supporting in their everyday lives.