In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Nowadays, the opportunities for students to obtain their university degree abroad instead of studying in their native country are increasing than previous years. On the bright side, scholars can study a topic in countries that are known to be the best in that sector. Moreover, being abroad means that the pupils are obligated to be independent. For those reasons, I personally agree with the statement. Firstly, by doing a university degree abroad, students can learn deeply in countries where the knowledge of a particular topic is already more developed than in their home country. Scholars can obtain information about present trends and future developments when studying in a country specializing in a particular sector. For example, the Indonesian Government has foresaw this advantage and so they offer a scholarship to study abroad, known as LPDP. Its mission is to provide Indonesian pupils in obtaining the best set of skills from the best source, particularly in developed countries. Secondly, students may learn to live independently. Living alone in a foreign environment will force the learners to be responsible for their personal life and not depend on other people. For instance, a foreign student at the University of Edinburgh said that they, foreign students, ought to provide their own food and daily needs whilst balancing it with their academic life. However, after adapting, the situation made them become more independent and responsible for themselves than ever. In conclusion, the more chances for students to study outside of their home country may result in some positive developments due to the possibility for them to learn a subject from the most scholarly renowned nations. It may also provide ways for scholars to transform into more independent individuals.