Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays it is believed, that no one can do anything in order to improve the environment, except the governments and large companies. Although, they can make a significant difference, each of us can also contribute to lowering the harmfulness to the environment. Thus, I believe that each of us, together with governmental institutions and companies can make a difference and I will support my idea with the arguments below. First of all, large companies are the main polluters, therefore, reducing the amount of garbage thrown away can play an important role in environmental conservation. Not only do they throw away poisonous garbage, but as well as some small particles that get into the air. For example, manufacturing companies that make furniture throw away large amounts of different litter and the amounts cannot be even compared to single average household garbage. Also, governmental institutions play a vital role in controlling the garbage system processes. Therefore, the executive boards might execute strict rules and enter the taxation system for large companies and for people who do not sort waste or who use disposable plastic bags in shopping centres. It will definitely affect people's behaviour and will lead to more conscious consumption. Moreover, as I mentioned before, not only large companies or the government can be impactful, but also each individual. For instance, using non-disposable cups when taking coffee away or taking non-plastic dishes when going to a barbeque party would save the environment in a longer perspective. Thus, humankind will waste less and consume less. I believe this will reduce the amount of plastic waste in the oceans and forests, therefore, will improve the quality of the environment. To summarise, I disagree that each of us cannot make a difference in environmental improvement and only governments and large companies can do so. I believe, that the government should implement a taxation policy for large companies which waste a lot, as well as for people who do not sort garbage and do consume products and services unconsciously.