Some people believe that allowing children to make their own decisions on every day matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Children are adults in the making. A part of the population think that allowing young ones to have sway in choice making relating to everyday issues has the tendency to give rise to a society of people who are self-centered. Whereas, others are of the opinion that kids should be stake holders in making decisions that affect them. This essay will throw light on both opinions and then give a pragmatic view. To start with, egocentrism will result when children are given the free - hand to decide on the issues that concern them such as entertainment. Self - centeredness adversely affects the nation because citizens of the country rather than working towards a common good will become driven by personal gains. Similarly, selfishness leads to disarray in human settings because children being irrational beings are driven by ephemeral pleasure and satisfaction instead of future and long - lasting gains. Consequently, disunity and division will unavoidably thrive in a self - oriented human gathering. However, kids should be allowed to take decisions because this builds self - confidence in them, an attribute invaluable for a balanced society. Similarly, when children are allowed to have a say in issues pertaining to them such as dressing, they grow up with self - esteem not needing people to validate their decisions. In addition to this, involving children in part of what contributes to their life, they grow up with this I - am - capable mentality which helps become responsible invariably producing adults ready to paddle the boat of their lives. To sum it up, although children should be given the freedom of making choices relating to them, but they should be made to know every of their choice has an aftermath. In my opinion, the society should put a kind of regulation in place for children, so that from time to time, they are guided to choose responsibly.