Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, there are many courses offered to college students. Also, the students can choose subjects that they want to study. Some people believe that focusing on major subjects is more crucial than studying both mandatory and elective subjects because main subjects will give more opportunities in the student’s career in the future. Meanwhile, some people consider that the additional subjects can be beneficial for students as well. This essay will elaborate on both views and provide my opinion. To begin with, the competitiveness in job applications continuously increases due to the economic downturn and the replacement of technology. In addition, employers tend to focus on the technical skills that the applicants have. As a result, the student should pay attention and strive to get the best performance in their major subjects. This is the best evidence that ensures the capability of them. As such, it’s worth spending time on the main subjects only. On the other hand, some selective subjects are beneficial for students. For example, working in the business world requires well-rounded skills. Although, your work’s quality is high, people will not recognise it until you present it to them. This is the reason why communication skills are necessary and they need to be improved. In fact, there are many minor subjects which were taught in the university. It would be better if students select them based on their interests and abilities. I agree with this idea. To sum up, studying only the main subjects can increase the possibilities of job applications. However, spending time on minor subjects also improves non-technical skills in students. In my opinion, students should apply for both subjects since both are essential.