Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that the rate at which popular goods are bought these days is mainly correlated with the extent of advertisement behind them. I strongly agree with the statement, based on the reasons explained below. In this era, companies can sell their products as much as they invest in marketing and advertising. Large companies dedicate more budget for marketing and advertising each year, and it is becoming a must-do for companies producing consumer goods, consequently. For instance, a highly needed consumer good won’t be sold if it is not advertised, and by contrast, a somewhat useless product will have high sales if it is promoted appropriately. We can conclude that the amount of advertisements has a more significant impact on product sales than people’s needs; hence society should be aware of the effects of marketing. With the rise of digital marketing, the whole marketing industry is becoming more effective in people’s decisions. In the past, there weren’t so many ways to promote a product. Nowadays, with the rise of technology, there are so many advertising ways, e.g., pop-up ads and personalized online ads, by which companies can persuade people to buy their products. Modern companies can grow much faster than the former ones using modern marketing methods. Consequently, the marketing industry is becoming more powerful as time passes, and companies prefer relying on advertising methods rather than actually increasing the quality of their product. To sum up, I agree with the idea that advertisements are more effective on consumer goods sales than people’s needs.