A large number of people are being killed in road accidents every year. Why do so many accidents occur ? Make recommendations that would help to reduce the number of road accidents

An estimated 1.2 million people are getting killed in road crashes every year. Traffic injuries are predicted to be the third -leading contributor to the globe. It accumulates multiple reasons for these accidents. This essay elucidates the reasons for accidents and also puts forward some recommendations to down surge the death rate, due to mishaps on the way. Firstly, the major cause of highway mishaps is rash driving. Also, a large number of casualties are happening due to overspeeding, violation of travel policies and poor infrastructure. In fact, people associated with traffic department claim that rash driving, excessive speed of cars and unwilling attitude to follow them and regulations by motorists are the primary reasons for accidents. However, drivers say that lack of preemptive measures, inadequate road facilities and pathetic design of roads immensely increased the risk of calamity. Moreover parents these days allow their children to drive even if they don't have a license. Some teenagers even use their modern gadgets while driving. For example, our neighbour had a car and his son, aged 16 years, used to drive without a license. This negligence resulted in the killing of a minor student near his school because he was on call while driving and missed recognizing the minor. On the other hand, drivers can play a pivotal role in mitigating traffic woes. They should be given training in driving and a need for a comprehensive test that includes both practical and theoretical tests. This will ensure their capacity for driving and knowledge about transport rules. In addition to this, the government should make attempts to organise seminars and workshops to increase awareness among drivers. For instance, our state government made it compulsory to attend driving school and the qualifying exam for getting a driving certificate and surprisingly, the fatality rate due to roadway disasters has declined. Also, roads should be widened and maintained in the wake of rising transportation and population, to ensure the smooth and safe locomotion of automobiles and pedestrians as well. Authorities should not allow folks who are drunk, they need to be penalised with a humongous amount if they get caught driving while they are drunk. In conclusion, I would like to say that it is an equal responsibility of both motorists and the bureaucracy to take precautionary steps to avoid any injuries. Furthermore, following above said recommendations will definitely help authorities combat this problem.