Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for many major cities. Why is this case? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce traffic in big cities.

In this contemporary era, many countries around the globe are facing traffic issues, which has led to a myriad of concerns. This is predominantly because of the increased number of motors on the roads; however, making more people transit by public transportation can help to combat this problem. The primary reason for a surge in traffic is the use of more private autos. Many individuals these days can afford vehicles to commute from one place to the other. This is also because of affordable petrol prices which allow them to plan unwanted journeys which are mostly for leisure purposes. Moreover, as the population worldwide is increasing, more vehicles on the road are increasing too as people have to travel to work, universities, visiting family and friends, etc., hence, bringing more congestion to the roads. For instance, a survey showed that 73% of Australians prefer to own a means of transport for daily excursions, which has increased traffic by 40% in a decade. There are, nevertheless, some solutions that can minimise this problem. Firstly, making public transport affordable can plummet the congestion rate gradually. This will attract more society members to use trains and busses rather than their own cars. For example, since the opening of trams in the city of Canberra, traffic decreased by 23%. Secondly, community members can help by making some judicious resorts as well such as sharing rides while travelling together, walking to close destinations, and riding bicycles instead of cars. Therefore, there will be more space on the road for smooth movement. Lastly, governments can increase the taxes on fuel and cars which will make it unaffordable for the general public, thus, using more public transportation services. To sum up, having put forth all the substantial arguments, the rise in the number of vehicles on the road has drastically increased traffic because it is reasonable for a common man to buy a car. Nonetheless, making it expensive to own a wagon and subsidising the prices of public transport can bring the situation under control.